Monday Maenad – Pretty Little Lying Liars

05/22/2017 by syrbal-labrys


Is it magic of any sort when I name something for something else and destroy renamed object(s)?  Unlike this clear-thinking writer, I DO believe in magic because I do believe in physics and I don’t think we know everything about how linkages between conscious effort, consciousness, and the universe work together.  But I do share his worries over how people think, or how they do not think things through.  So I do wonder about my own choices of action.  That is why I never eschew actual mundane methods of change.  However, my own experimental nature insists that I take the chance of looking/feeling foolish and go ahead and try what is called magic to push my mundane agenda harder.

So this weekend?  Before the rapidly warming sunshine lit up the Walk of the Fallen, I went out with intent in mind.  Not many weeds are a big problem there since I’ve been an aggressive gardener there.  But a pretty little liar had come up, hiding amidst planted things – scorpion grass!  This looks rather pretty in the beginning, you see it and think, “Oh, look – forget-me-nots!”  It is a forget-me-not wild relative.  But it is not what gardeners think of as the true blue forget-me-not.  Some versions even have white, not blue flowers.

So standing on the stones, I thought about things that look like other things and seem fairly good at the start.  Scorpion grass at the end is spindly and ugly, covered with burr like seed fruit bodies — persistent and hard to get rid of, and self-perpetuating.  Like Fox News!!  So, I re-named the scorpion grass and walked the Cretan Labyrinth pulling it up!  It was very satisfying to finally reach the center monument and be greeted by a wildly blossoming true myosotis with brilliant blue flowers!

If it IS just a psychological exercise?  Still good.  Weed the lies, even told by pretty little lying liars out of your life – public OR private – and go for what is really true blue.

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

