What To Resist?

2

11/17/2016 by syrbal-labrys


1jesusToday is one of my bad days. Even with two exceptionally long nights of more sound sleep, today is a “going up the walls with my claws” day.  Today, fear threatens to overwhelm me.  I repeat to myself my mantra of letting go of what I cannot control and focusing on what I still have some power over.  I still had cake (for dessert) after breakfast before I could feel as if there was some love left in my world!

Now?  Besides fear that threatens to stop hearts and brains? What MUST be resisted?

Resist pretending things are not very “Abby Normal” — that this IS a Franken-fuck needs constant harping.  Just for the un-win?  It is abnormal to hear rumors of someone allegedly under consideration for Nat’l Security head who thinks “purging” the military and intel communities of all who aren’t “100% loyal” to the Franken-Fuerer.  Oddly, the right wing sorts thought this was a horrid idea when they accused Obama of doing it.  And the world thinks Turkey’s President has lost his head for doing it.  But it is OKIYAR?

Resist ignoring threats from abroad.  We need to continue demanding tax information AND investigation into Trump’s links with Russia, because when the NSA chief says that Russia had a hand in the election?  That is NOT small potatoes, people – it means a foreign hostile government is controlling OUR fate.

Resist believing anyone who tells you the blatant racism on display has nothing to do with Trump being President.   Or that it isn’t in fact racism at all.

image1Resist the urge to think “things will level out” because Trump won and the violence of his followers will decline. That is not what is going to happen.  Because ” It’s not enough for them to win. Those who opposed Trump must stop opposing him.We must agree that Muslims should be banned from entering the country, agree we should torture and kill suspected terrorists and their families, agree immigrants should be rounded up and deported, agree there should be guns in schools, agree women should be punished for having abortions and agree to all the rest of it. Until we stop resisting completely and declare that we are “avowedly with them” they will continue to believe that “all their troubles proceed from us.

Resist NOT thinking about what IS going to happen to your health care plans?  If you think the GOP “replacement” means you won’t have to join and pay, think again.  The biggest difference?  If you are over 50, the plan might cost you enough to be called, realistically, the “Die Already” plan.

Resist fear with the realization that we must all be activists now.  President-Elect Pussy-Grabber and his very rough riders will be in the streets acting like Brown Shirts — do YOU want to watch a gay man beaten in the streets, or a Muslim woman?  Do you approve of people already smearing walls with Nazi symbols and writing “whites only” above drinking fountains?  Decide now, what and for whom you will fight.

Resist thinking this has never happened before somewhere else.  You DO have examples to study!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What To Resist?

  1. Sixbears says:

    The thing for me is to never for one minute forget that this ain’t normal -and to act accordingly.

    Today I discovered my wife’s doctor will be moving to Canada by the end of December. People around here are moving, for real. We are close to the border and many of us have ties to Canada that make the move easier.

    My old firefighter injuries are acting up and I’m dealing with it without doctors. While I’m got minimal insurance I can’t afford to use it. Besides, the doctors have a bad track record. More often than not they made me worse instead of better. I’ve decided to save that money instead and pay for alternative treatments that actually help -or at bare minimum do no harm.

    If it wasn’t such a train wreck I might enjoy watching Trump flounder around as he tries to form a government. The lack of elected experience shows.

    There’s only so much I can deal with right now, but I’ll get better.

    • I think it will take a while for people to find their footing. I don’t think Trump will care if people leave as long as their taxes still are paid. I think a lot of Americans will be forced to consider alternatives medically – and not all will be safe OR effective: caveat emptor!

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

