The Bride Wore Black

Leave a comment

06/20/2016 by syrbal-labrys


June is the month of weddings, no? There is a saying I vaguely recall that for luck, the weddings should be before the Summer Solstice. So, as the Minotaur and I decided after five years of PTSD travail and six months of marital counseling, we were ready to mark our progress with a re-commitment!

wedding daySo, yesterday, we roasted a chicken, set a fancy small wedding cake out, and each of us planned our vows.  We did not have rings, we exchanged a pair of matching heavy silver bracelets that we had tentatively worn for the last year.  We gussied up; after almost 40 years with this man, I wasn’t going for white and fly-a-way veils.

To me, the color of concentration and commitment is black.  Like my coffee.  Like my soul! Like my black heart of innocence!  So I dressed and we did the deed.  Not to rip off Madonna, but it did feel all “shiny and new”!

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"!

Member of The Internet Defense League

