Just Saying…

04/19/2016 by syrbal-labrys


Yes, thank you, I AM a Sanders delegate. Unlike some of the very loud and semi-angry ones at the weekend caucus meeting, I am not one insisting I will write in Bernie’s name if Clinton ends up as the nominee of the Democratic Party.

1pp

I really do think I’d prefer Sanders in the White House.  Not because I hate Clinton or believe the stock of lies and bullshit the GOP has been spouting, but because in general?  As I said yesterday to my fellow delegates, my first Presidential election was in 1972.  Since that time, I’ve watched my entire political party slide to the Right — somewhere to the Right of where Dwight Eisenhower, a Republican was at in my childhood!  I want Sanders and what he is saying to be paid attention to because MY party needs to get back to progressive values.

Look at that graphic above, please?  It is easy to blame the GOP for that raft of war-on-women crap, isn’t it?  (And don’t forget the bathroom wars!) But please consider, in MOST first world nations those things are absolutely never even a question any more!  And yet, the Democrats concede, too often, to “get along” with their misogynistic GOP sorts — because they have stopped believing in progressive politics being possible.

1obamacareNo, this isn’t Denmark.  Hillary is right.  But in spite of whatever she or anyone else says?  There is no reason we could NOT be like Denmark, except that we convince ourselves we can’t be.  That we have to work longer hours for worse pay.  That we can’t have reasonable health care and parental leave and good child care and real education.  When did we start buying that line of how fucking hard, miserable, and grueling life HAS to be?

There are some things that simply should not be for profit, America.  Health care, for instance.  Utilities like water and electricity, for instance.  Because anyone who is too poor to make money for some greedy slumph will be “written off” by that system!  And frankly, that currently describes the majority of Americans.  As long as we buy the lie that the freedom to own guns is more important than the freedom FROM starvation and illness too expensive to be cured?  We will continue a downward trajectory that, yes, means we will never be Denmark.  Or any other country on the list of those where citizens are happy to live!

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

