And Another One Gone..

04/18/2016 by syrbal-labrys


I spent yesterday at a Democratic caucus meeting that went way into overtime.  But the last thing I did before leaving the house to go there was to walk the Labyrinth.  One of my fellow Democrats who knows about my Walk of the Fallen was very surprised to hear that I had walked in a casualty of the continuing “war on terror” that very morning.

UnknownBut yes, deaths related to the wars go on for the 1% of the American public with family members in military service.

The most recent was Airman First Class Nathanial H. McDavitt, 22, of Maryland.  He died while serving in Southeast Asia in support of the war.  Some of the terrific weather that we’ve watched from afar damaged the building in which he was working and he died as a result of his injuries.

It is easy to forget, if you have not served and not known military members; the news doesn’t notice, as a rule unless there is something satisfyingly pyrotechnic about the mode of death.  Believe me, the flames of grief burn as hot!

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"!

Member of The Internet Defense League

