My Fingernails Will Stay Black…

02/29/2016 by syrbal-labrys


Mayhap, but it is ok.   If I’m not outdoors at this time of the year wearing garden gloves completely out, I am inside getting dirty.  I am not a tidy woman, I was not a tidy every-hair-in-place girl, either.  White is not my color because it doesn’t stay white long.

FullSizeRender 2But I finished my ‘day off’ task of the last three weeks!  That little Crow Mother kachina, a somewhat unusual completely wood-carved model by a Navaho artist was broken when I found her on Ebay.

Her winged head had no wings and she had no yucca plant “whips” in her hands. She was waiting for me when I got back from the deathwatch in North Carolina for our friend Lincoln Marston.

We ordered dry cottonwood root, the only traditional wood for making kachina dolls.  Once it came, I got out my two Buck knives and set to work.  There is a bigger picture over here. 

Tomorrow?  Back to getting dirty outdoors….

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

