An unspeakable post

4

10/16/2014 by syrbal-labrys


photoI am re-blogging this, since WordPress won’t list it in my ‘likes’ to be read because there is no image. But yes, these things needed to be said. If a feminist magazine didn’t have the courage to publish it, I’m glad the writer DID.

My image, at left, is for the magazine with no nerve.

glosswatch

In July this year I received an email from The Feminist Times, stating that they had financial concerns and asking whether I’d be willing, as a one-off, to contribute something for free (I’d written several paid articles before).

The email included the following line:

This is a chance to write ANYTHING you want to. Stuff no one else will publish.

So I decided to write about inclusion and exclusion, both in terms of physical space and in terms of definition, as both seem to me a vitally important when attempting to establish both women’s humanity and their basic safety. I expressed what I truly felt, sent off the article and waited, knowing that while it might be controversial, I had been given free rein to write ANYTHING (their caps, not mine).

First response:

Thanks for this. For obvious reasons I’ll have to run it past […] when we’re both back in the office together on Monday…

View original post 1,175 more words

4 thoughts on “An unspeakable post

  1. This is an important point right now- the ability of women to define their own spaces without men trying to make that decision for them And I’m seeing an unfortunate groundswell of transwomen tryimg to take over that decision making.
    No, it won’t do.
    Love
    Terri in Joburg

    • And there is the juncture at which the inclusion/exclusion becomes a problem, isn’t it?

      Myself? As much as I am superficially annoyed at silicone breasted thin muscular (male) thighed New Women as I become a dowdy thick old woman? I’m having a hard time thinking it fair to exclude them because they were born male.

      After all, if one goes through the hell they do to become female, it seems some credit SHOULD be given.

      • Sure. I;m not a hater. But there does still need to be spaces for women which are not forcibly barged into by control-obsessed males.
        It’s that “forcibly” which bothers me.
        Love,
        T in J

      • Technically a person who has been transformed into a female is no longer male, whether control obsessed or not.

        What troubles me in dialogues..and monologues about female and male spaces, is that I have long heard women – whether feminists or not, to be honest – decry all-male spaces quite vociferously; saying they should be allowed in all THOSE places.

        Since I personally base my ethics on the universilizable aspect of any moral demand? IT plays poorly when some of those same women suddenly start demanding female only spaces while denying the same privilege to men. Either both sides can have gender specific special zones, or neither.

        And I have, btw, heard men make the same exact statement but for one word, as your comment about those “barging” in….the irony is not delicious, but painful.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"!

Member of The Internet Defense League

