You Know, Sometimes Mercy Can Be Wasted?

Leave a comment

10/08/2014 by syrbal-labrys


1sugar shitThere will be a hanging in Afghanistan today.  Generally, I worry about the death sentence being used on the wrong people.  I don’t believe it is much of a deterrent, to be honest.  I do consider it occasionally necessary to reduce the risk to the general population.  In so-called “civilized” nations, life in prison might serve that same purpose, if imperfectly.

But in Afghanistan?  No, sorry.  Gang rapists can be hanged without me getting hung up on it.  I contribute monthly to Amnesty International; but in this case, I do stringently disagree that a rapid trial with a politician making end-zone political hay on it is necessarily a fixed trial.

I have an increasingly hard time figuring out why there is so much commitment to the rights of rapists over the horrors of what happened to the female victims.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

