Thursday Mental Health Break – And Yard Sale Bliss

Leave a comment

09/11/2014 by syrbal-labrys


1acq taste.I just know someone is going to find my idea of humor unfunny.  But THIS cracked me up with laughter.  Your mileage may vary (and frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn).

In other unrelated news?   This old lady learned a new trick from a very old cookbook!  I love yard sales, but in recent years have attended very few. This year, I cut loose as I was in need of some furnishings to facilitate my move back to the house.

At one sale, I fell in LOVE with a 1939 cookbook full of tiny fountain pen writing in margins and blank pages: it is “The Household Searchlight Recipe Book”!  And leafing through it one morning, I found a page on making coffee in various manners.  I perk mine in an old Pyrex Fire King pot — it always has a slightly burnt taste by the time it is sufficiently bracingly strong.  Lo and behold, the book says I’m doing it wrong.   It advises me to put my coffee in the basket, and then POUR already boiling water in the proper quantity OVER the grounds. And then, and only then, to “perk” the coffee for a brief THREE minutes. I did it that way this morning and it is DELICIOUS!

copper gloryThe same yard sale netted me a beautiful and HUGE copper colander for only $5!  (Yes, that is a 12 qt soup kettle beside it, being almost dwarfed.) Eat your heart out, Sur La Table, where it is $10 for a holiday ornament of similar loveliness and they have no usable piece worthy of comparison.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"!

Member of The Internet Defense League

