Friday Five

4

04/18/2014 by syrbal-labrys


Yes, again with relentless optimism.  Well, ok, relentlessly wanting to flog the bastards fucking up my planet — even if only with solutions instead of whips, ok?

(1) Dyson sucks!  And it could be awesome.  I admit, I’m not a fan of all things Dyson.  The fan-heaters are noisy.  The vacuums are made of cheap plastic easily-busted shit, but they DO suck like …well, ok, I will leave that to your imagination.  But for real cleaning? I like my Rainbow never-buy-a-bag-ever vacuum better.

(2) Reality bites “clean coal” in the ass.  Yeah, suck it coal-powered power plants; you do NOT get to put more mercury and other toxins in the air!

(3) I am again going to applaud Michael Bloomberg’s fight against American gun violence.  Click the bright red logo at the top right of side bar to join the ranks!

1acq taste.(4)As a valued fellow blogger points out, this was Palindrome week.  My favorite is “Dammit I’m mad,” but as Squathole pointed out to  me, my own online name “Syrbal/Labrys” is likewise a palindrome.  But I’m pretty sure that doesn’t often make me a favorite, for the reasons succinctly stated at left!

(5) Absorbing the impact of climate change doesn’t have to be all bad — you can’t make lemonade out of jellyfish, but you CAN make something absorbent!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Friday Five

  1. E.A. Blair says:

    I hear that Microsoft finally came up with a product that didn’t suck – unfortunately, it was a vacuum cleaner.

    • Bwahahahahahah! All the same, I am seriously pissed off at Apple right now, ready to toss all things computer into a trash barrel and return to fountain pens.

  2. Sixbears says:

    1. Wouldn’t it be better to cut of plastic pollution at the source rather than try and clean it up later?

    2. It will be nice to be able to eat the fish out of my lake with getting mercury poisoning.

    3. I’m unhappy with both Bloomberg and the NRA. Of course, gun control is one issue that seems to leave little room for civilized disagreement. You are more for gun control than I am, but can respect that. Who knows, maybe I’ll be persuaded.

    4. Palidromes -another acquired taste . . .

    5. Surprised to see an actual use for jelly fish. Just goes to show that big piles of anything are worth something.

    • (1) Yes, of course — but frankly, that ship sailed decades ago,so better to find a good clean up than wait for it to pile round us like a hoarder nightmare.
      (2) Fish? What is this food you speak of being able to eat?
      (3) What I hate is how the straw man always mounted against gun control advocates is that gun control means “taking all guns away”. It doesn’t mean that any more than it means taking all cars away because THOSE TOO are registered and users licensed.
      (4) But an amusing one.
      (5) Oh, I don’t know, I see some big piles of media and politicians who would likely be refused as shark feed…

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

