Can I Get An Amen?

8

04/01/2014 by syrbal-labrys


Keep CalmI pass neighborhood church reader boards all the time.  Well, whenever I have no choice but to leave my haven of sensibility, doubt, and skepticism, that is.  Stuff on those boards makes me want to puke or club people; shit like “People will let you down, God never will.”

Ex-fucking-cuse me?  Children are dying every minute of starvation and preventable illnesses —what is “God” doing about it?  Mankind is at war on half the continents at any given instant.  What the fuck is god doing about that?  So, seeing the whole “Jesus is the Answer” shit deconstructed makes my bitter, skeptical little heart sing.  Because all I ever thought when I saw that was “Well, then what the fuck is the QUESTION?” (BTW, at the link, click on the image to make it bigger.)

 

8 thoughts on “Can I Get An Amen?

  1. fdchief218 says:

    I just figure that these idiots deserve whatever they get from following this knuckleheaded advice…

    • They do deserve it. The problem is their increasing insistence that ALL of us, most especially all us women, live by that SAME knuckle-headed and knuckle-dragging advice!

  2. Sixbears says:

    Whenever I’m confronted with one of the trials the modern world sends my way, I turn to the bible and ask what goat herders from 3000 years ago would do. Does no damn good at all.

    Yeah, those church signs bug the hell out of me too.

  3. Jenn says:

    You aren’t alone in that! I damn near froth at the mouth seeing those damn insipid church signs. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

