Food Blogging Project – Make-Up Assignment

Leave a comment

01/08/2014 by syrbal-labrys


If I was doing this upon the idea of once a week for a year, I already missed a week! So, a quick, late make up session, ok? In keeping with our plans to try a year of mostly vegetarian meals, with occasional fish and meat only on holidays and New and Full moons, I pulled out a favorite old cookbook: The Vegetarian Epicure, Book Two by Anna Thomas. My husband owned Book One when we met, and I WILL acquire a copy again…both were lent out and never returned. Last year, I found #2 and we reacquired it, to my joy.

These books ignited a sort of cooking joy in the early months of our marriage, so as our marriage starts all over again, using them again excites me AGAIN! I had written down the month’s menus…for today it said “Sweet Potato and Cranberry Quiche”!

Well, yeah…except I couldn’t see the point of cooking sweet potatoes and carrots when I had a whole pound of cooked pumpkin thawed out and needing used, right? So…my amended version:

Pumpkin Cranberry Goat Cheese Quiche

One short-crust pastry…in a large pie pan.

1 lb cooked, pureed pumpkin, drained in cheesecloth to make it thicker
6 oz. fresh cranberries
1/2 c sugar (I used some I flavored with lavender last year!)
1/2 c yogurt (mine was thick like ‘Greek’ from being strained of its whey for something else!)
8 oz plain soft goat cheese (they wanted cream cheese, which I hate)
1 tsp Scappi’s Sweet (or use pumpkin pie seasoning)
1/2 tsp Red Curry Powder
1/4 tsp Ancho chile powder
4 eggs

They wanted the crust prebaked. I admit, I hate doing this and skip it whenever possible. I skipped it tonight. Pre-warm the oven to 375. Put the cranberries, the sugar and about a tablespoon of water in a small saucepan and cook till skins are bursting and the berries are tender and sugar melty-incorporated. Let cool. Put the goat cheese, eggs, pumpkin, yogurt, and spices in a high powered blender and whirl till creamy spicy orange is the consistent color.

Now, pie-crust at hand, hand stir the cranberries into the blender full of pumpkin-cheese goodness, sort of just enough to swirl it through. Now pour and smooth it into the pie crust and pop it into the oven. The recipe says bake for 40 minutes and mine is in the oven now. But they want to use a 11″ quiche dish — I just simplified my kitchen and got rid of such fancies; mine is in a 10″ pie pan. So it may take about 10 minutes more, I intend to test it about like you do a pumpkin pie…by sticking a knife-blade into the center and if it comes back clean, it is done!

I will edit later to add a photograph….if I get to the pie/quiche before the hungry husband, that is! ( I didn’t beat the hunger!)
IMG_5480

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

