Defaulting on the Costs of War

1

11/12/2013 by syrbal-labrys


1keep calmFirst, a miserable confession. I did not get the 8200+ names read through for Veterans’ Day and the 10th anniversary of the first public night of the Walk of the Fallen Memorial Labyrinth. I got through the spring of 2007, and then my back began to spasm and I had an asthma attack. I gave up, I defaulted on my own desire to read the lists. But as bad as I feel about that, I still HAVE the names, I still count the losses with beads, and I still walk the dead inward, in as near as I can get to formal mourning. Because the ‘second” thing as I finally can stand upright again this morning? Getting rid of troops as a military winds down…throwing them out with the yellow ribbon magnets?

You really have to wonder what is going on and whose name was on what must be an unwritten order to chapter out as many GIs as possible so they won’t get veterans’ benefits including medical help for things like PTSD.

So, we didn’t learn enough about the mess in Viet Nam to stay out of a similarly horrid mess in the sand, but we did learn, apparently, even more about discarding the men sent in our steads.

One thought on “Defaulting on the Costs of War

  1. Rowan says:

    How we treat our returning troops is abominable.

    And do not be so hard on yourself. It took more than a night for this nation to create those books of names. You remember them. You mourn them and do not let them be forgotten. Which is more than I can say for the government or most of the people the soldiers protect. Because of you, they are not forgotten. I remember and many of us here reading and connecting with you remember. And those who have been sung on their way into that labyrinth remember. You have been doing the hard work of steady stewardship. And that makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

