I Had Forgotten…

Leave a comment

10/31/2013 by syrbal-labrys


stabbity…I was a child in Germany. I loved it dearly, being a child in Catholic Bavaria was a wonderful thing, to be honest. My military father and my mother didn’t get quarters on post, so we lived in a tiny basement apartment on “the economy”. The saddest thing I recall from early ’60’s Germany? No trick or treating! Halloween was unheard of there; but a short while later? Yes, there was St. Martin’s Day….and I went door to door singing in my German and was given a small coin with which to buy my own choice of candy. And then, I was taken by our German landlady to a great palace, carrying candle-lit lanterns, to hear music and see various wonders.

Apparently, all has now changed! All in all, I think the palace and lanterns beat trick or treating, hands down!

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

