Drive in the Autumn Light

3

10/29/2013 by syrbal-labrys


First off, before my spaced out mind forgets, many thanks to Tengrain for highlighting my anti-Confederate-Tea Party rant on Crooks and Liars!

Second off…off the wall, that is, I know I am a Luddite in the computer age, but WTunholyF happened to my browser? It comes up without an url at the top, I can’t grab things for linking or ANYdamned NORMAL thing now. I didn’t want two Mondays this week, thanks.
photo

Finally, to the point of this post….autumn beauty as I drove to (gasp!) an early morning dental appointment:

*The blue, blue sky with the waning crescent moon sinking into the treeline in the west.

*Frost on multi-gabled houses, the sun-sides already melting, leaving the house roof-tops two toned, white and gem-sparkly AND shiny-wet dark.

*Yellow leaves cascading like a golden waterfall off a walnut(?) tree at the roadside, so quickly and fluidly dropping straight to the ground the way a woman drops a cloak from her shoulders.

*A mother standing on a sidewalk, smart phone camera mode in hand, filming her tiny child walking 25 yards ahead on his way to school…walking there alone possibly for the first time.

*A flash of red, white, and black as the Pileated Woodpecker leaps from bird-feeder back into the cover of the firs in my backyard.

3 thoughts on “Drive in the Autumn Light

  1. Brina says:

    LOVELY! On Sunday the sun came out at our house after a windy night. The bigleaf had lost most of its autumn burden and the ground was thick with the rich yellow. The light reflecting off it turned my white walls butter-yellow.

    Yeah, I’m done mourning summer. I love you, Autumn!

    • Likewise, the big leaf maples here are bare already, too!

      • Brina says:

        We’re not quite there yet, but we’re in kind of a sheltered area. It looks like a two-raking year…I don’t really want them on the ground when people come over for Dia. Too slippery when it rains…

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

