Dear Western Washington Consumers; Never Mind?

Leave a comment

10/21/2013 by syrbal-labrys


Keep CalmI’ve been watching you on the news for two weeks now. No, I am not the NSA. But I see when you are asked if you will cross grocery store picket lines, you say things like “Well, I have to have groceries.”

Well, yes, I suppose you do. My household could likely last six or eight weeks without shopping for more than fresh milk or fruit….but I know most folks don’t shop except for days at a time. Nonetheless, later MOnday evening a strike will (NOW, not) begin. The folks who have been ringing up your groceries don’t want to get poorer, they want to keep health care for themselves and their kids. Support them and do NOT cross their picket lines at Safeway, Fred Meyer, QFC, and Albersons. A last minute agreement has been tentatively reached. But all I say still counts!

You do have options, even in Tacoma in Pierce County! Costco members can shop there. Military families and retirees can resort to a Commissary. There are also independent grocers like IGA and Winco…an employee owned store, and there are Top stores, too. And you have three days to stock up, if you insist, at your local favorite before the strike begins. I know that here in Pierce County, a Red one on the Blue side of the state, picket lines will likely be ignored. Those damned unions, of course, ruining free enterprise and all. Of course, that is bullshit. Labor unions gave this country a sustainable engine of industry and an enviable living standard. And those checkers and stockers at the store are not exactly making a fortune….but they need to be able to make rent and groceries just like you and I.

Please honor the picket lines, support the strikers who are your neighbors and usual store staff! In honor of the hard times ahead of them, I pulled my super out of my garden today….beets, rutabagas, carrots and other things to make a peasanty borscht with a bit of smoked meat and some dark home-made bread.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

