Un-Dear Kansas:

Leave a comment

09/18/2013 by syrbal-labrys


1thou are a douvheI used to get teased by my oldest friend in Kansas. She used to tell me to “Stop being Dorothy in the Emerald City and come home!” This was before she and her second husband and kids sold everything they owned and ran off to Israel in late 1999 because he convinced her that Jesus was coming back and they had to be there.
After that kind of didn’t happen, he didn’t allow her to talk to me. But it seems that is just as well, because I think the entire state has gone crazy anyhow.

Because it seems the recommendation loose in Kansas is to make “sustainability” illegal, at least insofar as any sort of government spending goes in the state. Yes, indeed,
House Bill No. 2366 would ban all state and municipal funds for anything related to “sustainable development,” which it defines as: “development in which resource use aims to meet human needs while preserving the environment so that these needs can be met not only in the present, but also for generations to come.” (Thank you, Digby!)

Wow, so there we are, way to attract business, Kansas! As the Oglalla Aquifer empties beneath your state lines (alas, not only your state lines), you can turn my birth-state into a huge toxic dump—because what other sort of “industry” could you possibly attract at that point? I mean, if rampant stupid reactionary crap is all you have left there…hey, just go right on ahead and merge with Oklahoma and Texas….as other places I cannot name aloud without the sadly non-alliterative pejorative adjective “fucking” attached.

I wonder, if in the future, when asked where I was born, I could just mumble “Salina(s)” and let folks think I came from a pretty valley in California? Or should I just go with refugee-from-madness status and regretfully confess to having been born in a heartland now devoid of heart OR brain?

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

