966 (Million Pounds)– The Number of the Coffee Trash Beast (Edit-Skeptic’s Update)

6

09/02/2013 by syrbal-labrys


turkish coffeeI HATE the one cup coffee maker thingies that use those costly little pods. HATE! My military commissary replaced the bulk coffee zone of Millstone (where I bought my coffee) with a humongous freaking section of the itsy bitsy pods of coffee in boxes. I swore. A lot.

My husband went on and on and freaking ON about wanting one of these damned machines, so I gave in and got him one for Fathers’ Day. But I told him after an initial sampling of the pods, he WOULD be using the cup that one fills with regular ground up coffee bought in bulk foods and ground up at home.

Because even if you tell me that the pods are “recyclable”….no, not so bloody much, they aren’t! Being the medieval minded sort that I am, I still perk my coffee atop the stove.

Edit: I do find their estimate of 966 million pounds of these in the trash a bit hard to believe. I mean, if there are 300 million Americans…and not all of them even drink coffee, and not all coffee drinkers drink these annoying little trendy things, wouldn’t that mean an awful LOT of these per coffee drinker? I mean, even the totally non-recyclable ones don’t weight very much….there would be many dozens of these to a single pound empty weight. So, no math whiz, me…but something is extremely off in this equation. This has been running about my head like an annoying mental mosquito every since Aug 29th when I first posted it.

6 thoughts on “966 (Million Pounds)– The Number of the Coffee Trash Beast (Edit-Skeptic’s Update)

  1. Brina says:

    I’ve played around a bit with popcorn popper coffee roasting. Made some really nice decaf (better than I can buy) with some green Guatemalan beans.

    And I’ve always meant to get a Corningware stovetop percolator like my Nana had when I was a kid:

    • syrbal says:

      I like those, too. Used to see them frequently at thrift stores….two of the tall ones, sans interior bits, are my wax melting cauldrons for making dipped candles.

      • Brina says:

        Yup. The Wedgewood Blue model is the one Nana had. I do find them now and then, too, but they’re always a little too dear…I just need better thrift stores, eh?

      • syrbal says:

        They are expensive….only reason mine weren’t is neither had the perky parts and one was missing the lid as well.

  2. Sixbears says:

    I perk on top of the stove too, then pour in an airpot. Stays hot all day that way. *not that coffee lasts all day at my house.

    My coffee is fair trade organic, bought in bulk to save on packaging. I roast my own.

    Those little cups drive me F**king nuts too.

    • syrbal says:

      I buy in bulk, but haven’t tried roasting my own yet. I only make a small pot — two mugfuls in an old Fireking glass pot.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

