Poetry – August, Month of Fail

Leave a comment

08/07/2013 by syrbal-labrys


I always want to make it better,
I always want to make things right,
But no matter how I try it all goes wrong,
Wasted hours of repetition,
Chasing clarity that always escapes,
Running blind alley-ways of night.

Once a man asked me to marry him,
When I said “no” he told me, angry…
“You are busted, broken!”
Just because I didn’t want to keep his house,
Didn’t want to bear his babies,
Didn’t want to lose myself.

But what do I know?
The world tells me every day,
I’m a woman, what can I know?
I finally did marry, bear babies,
And I lost myself somewhere,
And Jesus never loved me.

And when I try to find myself,
Say “This is me and this is you”
It all goes sideways, wrong, busted,
Because I never found the art,
To fixing being nobody.
And I don’t love Jesus.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

