Lughnasadh – For the Bees

6

08/01/2013 by syrbal-labrys


1beesThis pagan sabbat is not one where we light a fire, sing, drink, eat, and dance. I’m not Wiccan, but I mark this first harvest holiday in my own way…this is a working holiday for me. For about a week either side of this day, my household picks berries, makes jam, cooks and/or bottles/kegs mead, dries herbs…and sometimes weaves together sheafs of grain. And I mourn my bees, who all died of colony collapse. We get no more buckets of cherries without my bees. But honeybees come here from other places and I am getting cucumbers this year and hope for pumpkins, too.

I do most of the things on that above list, but don’t know if the produce I buy is mostly local because so many of the one-time producers sold their land to be covered in giant warehouses or housing developments. But I am trying, year by year, to grow more of my own food. It takes some practice, we have a rather short season here and global climate change is making that even more tetchy. We will keep at it.

6 thoughts on “Lughnasadh – For the Bees

  1. it’s frighting losing all the bees…when I first moved here I had a small garden and had bees everywhere. Have a Lantana in corner of the yard and It’s a Texas native plant and can’t kill it(and the gardeners have tried) but each year there were less bees and smaller garden..now? no bees and no garden..breaks my heart.
    thanks for stopping by and saying howdy.

  2. Sorry to hear about your bees and good luck with your venture.

  3. Alex Whisman says:

    I am sorry to hear about your bees. 😦

    I planted some borage, mustard & phaecellia (bees LOVE phaecellia) about a week ago. I saw a huge bumble bee on our cherry tree flowers so want to have an early crop of flowers for any bees that come through our place. I’ll start to plant my tomatoes, cucumber, squash, watermelon & herbs in the next few weeks and stagger them out.

    Good luck with your harvest and preserving.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

