Futility

6

07/26/2013 by syrbal-labrys


Keep pouring Perhaps it is the heat, which even in the usually comfortable Nor’west, seems to crash me physically? Perhaps it is the seeming tsunami of stupid that washes across my nation like the legendary great waves over Australia? But all my life feels futile presently….what little of it is public and all of it that is private. I seem to be unable to make any positive effect anywhere, I am triggered by too many things and pacing my way through sleepless nights. I feel powerless and paralyzed and depression is a black dog on my heels.

So, if I have nothing constructive to say…that is why. I’ve never been a fan of saying only destructive things and I certainly don’t live the Disney “Bambi” film’s “Thumper Rule” of “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all” in spite of being a child of the 50’s. I prefer a quote from one of Iain M. Bank’s “Culture” novels:

“If you have nothing helpful to say, shut the fuck up.”

I have nothing helpful to say.

6 thoughts on “Futility

  1. fdchief218 says:

    Yep. What you said.

  2. karen says:

    I know the feeling. Others are saying what I think, often much better than I could say them. I don’t know if I have anything helpful to say or not, but too much of the time it is likely to be nasty, and I might just as well use the vitriol up in the gym as spew it and infect someone else. As you say, the stupid is just washing over both of our countries.

  3. Brina says:

    Yeah, stepping back a bit sounds like a great idea. Wish I could consistently do that…

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

