Asshattery, Florida Style

4

07/13/2013 by syrbal-labrys


I am often glad I don’t live in Texass…where they want to protect all us little wimmens by not letting us make any serious decisions about our own bodies. But tonight, I am more glad I don’t live in Fucking Florida.

“Stand your ground” apparently means it is ok to call yourself “neighborhood watch” and ignore the directions of the police to “observe, do not follow or approach” and start a fight you can’t finish without use of a firearm…..as long as the one you shoot (1)dies, (2) is the only witness, and (3) is black and thereby surely guilty of something.

I hope Mr. Zimmerman is too terrified to set foot outside his own door for the rest of his life, I hope his own lies NEVER stop echoing in his own head. I hope that when ocean levels rise, Florida sinks. Yeah, I have friends in the state….and I often ask them WHY they live there.

4 thoughts on “Asshattery, Florida Style

  1. Sixbears says:

    Ok, I can’t argue that FL is a fucked up state, because it is. Their law making process is a mess. They just accidently banned all computers and smart phones. The way “stand your ground” is written in the state of FL makes it wide open for abuse.

    That being said, I was in FL at the time, and not too far from where it all went down. By the time the story hit the national news, it was a lot different than initial local reports.

    I’m going to have to go with the jury on this one and trust them.

    Doesn’t make the situation any less tragic.

    • syrbal says:

      I don’t think I’d trust either the jury or local news. I say this because a few years back Eastern Washington had its OWN cock-up and all the “locals” were SO sure they were justified. It involved a regular witch hunt out in Wenatchee….DOZENS arrested and imprisoned for child rape, with a cop leading the charge based on testimony from a child he was keeping in HIS home. It was all bogus, and yet, last I checked one or two people (one mentally ill and both indigent) were STILL in jail.

      So local news and juries do not much convince me.

  2. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    “Stand your ground” basically means “license to kill” whenever someone pisses you off. ALEC really needs an airing out… they are responsible for this awful legislation.

    • syrbal says:

      At least if you are male and of suitably fair complexion…NOT if you are female, in fear for your life, black and shooting in the AIR.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

