It Shall Be Hot

2

07/05/2013 by syrbal-labrys


I had to re-stock Ms. Hubbard’s cupboard today…me and the other natives get antsy if not fed regularly. Even with my stripped down simple cooking largely in the Haven this summer, a certain amount of preparation takes place inside. Making chorizo, for instance, of good pork sirloin roasts and freshly ground dried chiles.photo For some time I have been discontented with buying canned chipotles in adobo sauce — all the adobo sauces are tomato based and thus an allergy issue for me! So, imagine my joy today to find dry smoked chipotles…the dead cigar-brown looking smoked jalapenos!

There shall be heat as my make my own tomato free chipotles adobados and can them up in wee glass jars And the resultant delights shall doubtless keep us warm even when the dying year goes dark, rainy, and cold! And the chorizo made on Monday shall have some extra heat as well! And later? Chipotle baked beans!! Yum!

2 thoughts on “It Shall Be Hot

  1. Rowan says:

    Oh, now you have my attention. It’s only in the last few years that I discovered chipotle and discovered I love it. What do you do with the baked beans? Just adding some to a basic recipe or something new and exciting? When you have been cooking some forty-plus years, you get to watching for something … out of the ordinary.

Leave a Reply

Donate Here Please!

Skip coffee, donate a few bucks here!

Herland

The name of this blog, and my Dreamwidth blog, Herlander Refugee, is taken from a 1915 feminist novel "Herland". It makes my heart sing that modern women are experimenting with creation of a new "Herland"! Yes, comments are closed. Anyone who just MUST reach me can do so at syrbal6 at gmail dot com.

Member of The Internet Defense League

