So, Still the “Whore Corps” Is It?

8

03/13/2013 by syrbal-labrys


Back in 1974, when I joined the Army…it was still the Women’s Army Corps (WACs) that I joined. My father laughed and told everyone I was “joining the Whore Corps”. The basic perception of the Regular Army, you see, was that women were there to do office jobs and be evening companionship. Right. Not. Two years or so into my tour of duty, the WACs were simply handed to the Regular Army and women in service no longer had a separate command to stand up for them.

I was harassed. Some men even threatened to tell my bosses that I was a lesbian if I didn’t go out with them; the presumption was that a date equaled sex, too. I was often treated as if saying “No.” to sexual demands was failing part of my actual “duty” as a military woman. My dad was right, there WAS a presumption that women were there for more than the day job! And some men got angry if a military woman married and did NOT get out; because, OMG, how DARE a woman be less available because she ‘belongs’ to a particular man and is off the ‘menu’? Women who got pregnant as well? Oh, off the scale hostility from certain men, sometimes unfortunately supervisors.

So, it is not a shock to me that NPR reports that the military views a woman reporting rape or sexual harassment as a betrayal of their fellow troops.

Frankly? I think the recent wars in countries where ‘native’ women are so rigidly controlled that there are not even the casual whore-houses makes military women even more likely to be seen as the “correct” option. Gee, we criticize the “chattel” ideals of those countries, but our own military holds a very similar opinion of female members.

8 thoughts on “So, Still the “Whore Corps” Is It?

  1. I’m ashamed of my gender. I know the meaning of no. Never had a problem with romance by using mutual respect and humor. Perhaps if the narcissists or knuckle draggers did the same they wouldn’t need to be their own dates!

  2. Marcus says:

    I was in the Philippines on several occasions during my tenure in the military. The attitude you stated about women was rampant there, and since only male children were worth anything to their families, the young girls flocked to where they could get any money – which was around the bases and the military men who described it as a ‘paradise’. Needless to say, the image of the Ugly American was in full force and practice. I’m thankful for Mount Pinatubo, which caused us to leave due to an “Act of God” (and is about the only time I’d give credit, too).

    • syrbal says:

      I hear that, only too well! But as for WHICH god to accredit with a volcanic pink slip for Uncle Sam? Might not be that misogynist “usual” suspect!

      • Marcus says:

        The Hindu diety Shiva would be my first suspect – destroyer/transformer certainly fits the bill.

      • syrbal says:

        Could be, could be. Also, several island cultures have goddesses associated with volcanoes — most of them known for their lack of subtle handling of men who anger them.

      • Rowdy says:

        Madame Pele, Hawai’i volcano goddess, leaps to mind.

  3. jdlawes says:

    I wish I could argue with this but, well, no. Mind you, I think it’s a subset of guy-thinking in general rather than an attitude particular to the services, but the services being so guy-ish I think that the attitude tends to be more intense there.

    And I’m not sure that this has as much to do with the venues of our recent armed frolics as it does the guys who are the typical sorts of guys in the services and their views towards women in general; a sort of life-support system for a vagina. Most of my buddies in the service didn’t have female friends; they had women they fucked (or, more charitably, girlfriends and wives), and their male pals. A lot of them didn’t seem like they LIKED their wives and girlfriends a whole lot; they didn’t do things with them all that much other than things they had to do – kid-care stuff, household things…

    So I’d like to be surprised by this. I’m pretty disgusted. But surprised? No.

    • syrbal says:

      Pretty much the attitude that I encountered as active duty, and as a wife. Worse, as a post-military wife, I was hated BY other wives for “being the bitch my husband would fuck around with”….tho’ oh so not the case; I made clear married guys had better steer clear if they didn’t want to risk a home-made vasectomy.

      But yes, the attitude that women are just what you fuck, and you marry ‘em if you have to, but they are not ‘real’ people…so not helpful.

Comments are closed.

Member of The Internet Defense League

Here, There, Anywhere

This "herlander" was walking away from here, as of April 27, 2014. (But) It is getting so STUPID out "there" that I have come back here to be a public mourner/ranter/raver again. (My more personal blog is at Experiential Pagan. Normalcy attempts to prevail there. But it is definitely going to soften up again now that I am here where I throw rotten fruit at deserving targets.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

