Springing

22

02/05/2013 by syrbal-labrys


say whatThe wind chimes all sound, some discordantly, as earlier wind storms stripped away parts that led to harmony. The furled umbrella on the porch table rotates as if to say “Come on, Don Quixote, I’ll be your windmill tonight.” The birds were all out of sight 30 minutes ago, because they know a storm is coming. Fat drops of rain pelt the back of my neck as I bend over a rat-trap on my roof. I smear it with chicken fat and set it; at night it is rodent highway up there of late.

The rain isn’t really cold, nor does it have the icy teeth of the January storms. It doesn’t yet carry the soft warm earth smell of April, but the Old Woman Winter is too busy packing her bags to really freeze us now. But we will have a warm spell now and the weeds will begin to bloom even while the earth is cold and the buried bumblebees still slumber. My days will be spent desperately trying to catch up with the winter-mangled yard.

The Labyrinth will need a lot of work, the moles have worked insidiously at undermining the stones. I wish I felt some enthusiasm for the task. But I am still feeling slowed like cold syrup and ice clogged streams. We have an entire garden to rebuild this spring; and more daunting than that? A green house to aid us all year round as our season shortens more each year.

We have a hotter, brighter spell in summer than usual, but it is cold enough that the earth feels icy clear into June. And the first frosts come in October, but September days are often so dreary and drippy that final fruits never ripen before rot sets in with the damp. So, if we intend to eat from our back yard, we must adapt and change.

I feel about as much enthusiasm for the whole idea as I do about the change to Daylight Bloody Savings Time coming next month. I will cut cherry, apple, and forsythia branches and embellish them with glass eggs, wee garden implements, and glass birds….awaiting the Vernal Equinox, if the branches bloom perhaps my spirit will lift? But whether it does or not, the geese cry to me; they want the weeds I will pull. And by month’s end, Alba will be laying huge snowy white eggs. It is springing on me, ready or not.

22 thoughts on “Springing

  1. Brina says:

    Last night as I left work, I got the first whiff of “live” earth. It’ll probably go away before returning again in March, but it given that it’s one of my favorite smells, I’ll take it where I can.

    • syrbal says:

      Likewise, a favorite scent here. But I know I live in a cold spot….so I will be awaiting a while yet.

      • Brina says:

        We really need to have another BPAL party. You’ll be surprised how similar their Graveyard Dirt smells. ;)

      • syrbal says:

        LOL! In lieu of early spring, you mean? Carmen would love it and has friends, but might have to wait till school is out.

      • Brina says:

        Works for me. I’ve amassed a decent collection of bottles and would love to put in a group order. Or better yet I could search BPAL.org for some cheaper secondary-market stuff (partial bottles, tested Imps, etc.).

      • syrbal says:

        Let me know what you find and I will chip in!

      • Brina says:

        Cook up a wishlist (and tell Carmen to do the same) and I’ll see what I can find.

      • Brina says:

        Oh, and let me know if you see anything you like from the naught, naughty Shungas:

        http://www.blackphoenixalchemylab.com/picturesofspring2013.html

        I can probably get in on a decant circle, if you’re quick!

      • syrbal says:

        Sound fun, and yes, I read typo. I am wild about anything with leather, tobacco, roses, and mossy scents.

      • Brina says:

        That should have read “naughty, naughty”. You understand. I was really excited. ;)

      • syrbal says:

        LOL, I understand.

      • Brina says:

        Cool. I’ll recommend some options when I get home tonight (can’t look at work…too NAUGHTY). And I’ll let you know prices once the decant circles get going, probably tomorrow or Friday. The prices vary somewhat depending on who’s running them, but the Shungas tend to go for 4 to 5 bucks apiece.

      • syrbal says:

        I’ve got some cash to contribute but I won’t likely get to talk to C. Till tomorrow! Then I’ll know more about when; who from up there do you think would like to attend?

      • Brina says:

        Dunno, but I’ll put the word out to folks and let you know what I hear.

      • syrbal says:

        Sounds good, perhaps some time round Equinox? Mailing funds for BPAL hunting today. My Internet still dead….think it may be Craptastic Comcast not Mac, whole network is down.

    • Brina says:

      Kate and Jamey are interested. They’re checking their calendar. I haven’t heard back from Rosemarie yet.

      • syrbal says:

        Trying to get an idea….what about the 16th of March?

      • Brina says:

        That works for me. I’ll check with everyone else.

      • Brina says:

        Just got an email from Kate. That’s Dylan’s birthday weekend. She suggested the 9th. How does that sound?

      • syrbal says:

        Damn it, if I do it later or earlier, C. And all her friends ate back in college; also a friend I want to invite will behaving out of state at the second half of March.

      • syrbal says:

        The ninth is in finals week for all the college types.

Comments are closed.

Member of The Internet Defense League

Here, There, Anywhere

This "herlander" was walking away from here, as of April 27, 2014. (But) It is getting so STUPID out "there" that I have come back here to be a public mourner/ranter/raver again. (My more personal blog is at Experiential Pagan. Normalcy attempts to prevail there. But it is definitely going to soften up again now that I am here where I throw rotten fruit at deserving targets.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

